

Date: Thursday, 17 July 2014

Time: 10.00 am

Venue: Council Chamber, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury, SY2 6ND

Contact: Karen Nixon, Committee Officer

Tel: 01743 252724

Email: karen.nixon@shropshire.gov.uk

COUNCIL

TO FOLLOW REPORT (S)

26 Allocation of Committee Seats and Appointments (Pages 1 - 4)

Report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services is attached, marked 26.

Contact Claire Porter Tel 01743 252763.





Agenda Item 26



Committee and date

Council 17th July 2014 Item

Public

26

ALLOCATION OF COMMITTEE SEATS AND APPOINTMENTS

Responsible Officer Claire Porter

Email: claire.porter@shropshire.gov.uk Telephone: (01743) 252763

1.0 **Summary**

1.1 This report concerns the effect of the recent change in membership of the Independent political group as a result of Councillor D Tremellen becoming a non-affiliated member in relation to the distribution of seats on committees, and other bodies to which proportionality rules apply.

2.0 Recommendations

- 2.1 That the Council confirms the revised allocation of seats to each of the political groups for the 2014/15 municipal year and the changes which are consequential on the result, namely:
 - a) That the composition and revised allocation of seats on its committees and other bodies as detailed in the report be approved.
 - b) That Councillor D Tremellen be appointed to the Performance Management Scrutiny Committee.
 - c) That Councillor P Cherrington be appointed as substitute member for Councillor D Tremellen on the Performance Management Scrutiny Committee.
 - d) That Councillor P Wynn be appointed to the Shropshire and Wrekin Combined Fire Authority in place of Councillor P Cherrington.
 - e) That it be noted that Councillor K Turley has been appointed as substitute for the Independent Group on the Area Planning Committee South in place of Councillor D Tremellen.

REPORT

3.0 Background/Local Government and Housing Act 1989

3.1 The provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 require the Council to review the representation of each political group on committees, panels etc. at each annual meeting or as soon as practicable after that meeting. The regulations require that all Scrutiny, Standing and Regulatory Committees are politically balanced across the total number of committee places. Subject to that overriding requirement, each committee must also be politically balanced, as far as it is reasonably practicable.

- 3.2 The Executive (Cabinet) is not subject to the political balance rules, but the Standards Committee is required to be balanced.
- 3.3 Advisory Committees and other ad hoc bodies and groups are not subject to the political balance rules either, but traditionally political proportionality has been applied to them outside the overall aggregate balance referred to in paragraph 2.1 above.
- 3.4 The Council has recently been advised that Councillor D Tremellen is no longer a member of the Independent Group and as he has not joined another political group he is regarded as a non-affiliated independent member.
- 3.5 Accordingly, it is necessary to review the membership of committees to reflect this change in the relative size of the political groups.

4.0 Allocation of Seats

4.1 The Council is required to approve the allocation of seats to the political groups for the remainder of the coming year. In accordance with the Political Balance Rules, the revised maximum number of seats available to each of the groups will be:

Group Name	<u>Seats per</u> <u>Group</u>
Conservatives Liberal Democrats	57 16
Labour	11
Independent	5 (-1)
Total	89(-1)

4.2 The effect of the recent change in membership of the Independent Group from 5 to 4 is that the Independent Group must relinquish one seat on a Scrutiny Committee. The most natural place for this appears to be on the Performance Management Scrutiny Committee which was allocated formerly to Councillor Tremellen, the newly non-affiliated member. Although it is ultimately a matter for Council to determine the number and size of committees and the distribution of seats between political groups, legislation provides that the non-affiliated member is entitled to a Committee seat on the It would appear logical therefore for the seat to be on the Performance Management Scrutiny Committee and for the status quo of membership to prevail. This position is supported by the Leaders of the Conservative and Independent Political Groups who are primarily affected by the change. Councillor Tremellen has subsequently indicated that if this option is approved by Council then he would wish Councillor P Cherrington to act as his substitute

- 4.3 The change to the political balance does not affect the Area Planning Committee for the South Area. However the Leader of the Independent Group has nominated Councillor Turley to be their substitute member on the committee in place of Councillor Tremellen.
- 4.4 The Council is entitled to 11 seats on the Shropshire and Wrekin Combined Fire Authority. Under the new arrangements, the Independent Group must relinquish their one seat to the Conservative Group. Councillor P Wynn has therefore been nominated to fill the newly gained Conservative seat on the Fire Authority in place of Councillor P Cherrington.

List of Background Papers (This MUST be completed for all reports, but does not include items containing exempt or confidential information)

Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and Regulations made thereunder.

Human Rights Act Appraisal

The contents of this report are compatible with the provisions of the Human Rights act 1998.

Environmental Appraisal:

Not Applicable

Risk Management Appraisal

The Council is obliged to ensure that the membership of committees and related bodies is proportionate to individual group membership.

Community / Consultations Appraisal

Not Applicable

Cabinet Member: Keith Barrow

Local Members: All Appendices: - Nil

This page is intentionally left blank